History of Agriculture University, Kota

Recognizing the importance of agricultural growth and development in assuring livelihood security of its population, the Government of Rajasthan gave high priority to develop agricultural education, research and extension in the state.  A separate Agricultural University was created in the year 1987 at Bikaner. The service area of this university was whole Rajasthan. On 1st November, 1999, Maharana Pratap University of Agriculture and Technology, Udaipur (MPUAT), the second Agricultural University of the state, (initially named as Agricultural University, Udaipur) came into existence  by bifurcation of the Rajasthan Agricultural University, Bikaner, through  Government of Rajasthan Ordinance No. 6 of 1999, which became an Act in May, 2000.

The Agriculture University, Kota (AUK) came into existence on  September 14, 2013 from the bifurcation of the Maharana Pratap University of Agriculture & Technology, Udaipur (MPUAT)  and Swami Keshwanand Rajasthan Agricultural University (SKRAU), Bikaner (earlier known as Rajasthan agriculture university Bikaner) and through promulgation of government  of Rajasthan act No. 22 of 2013. This has been done in view of wide variations in physiography including crops, cropping patterns, climate, soil characteristics etc., in the largest state of the country and gives new fill up to the location specific programmes for south eastern Rajasthan. This university with head quarter at Kota started functioning in full swing from  September 23, 2013 with joining of Hon’ble Vice-chancellor

The jurisdiction of the University includes all the campuses including Constituents College, ARS, ARSS and KVKs spread over six districts of the South-east Rajasthan. These districts are Kota, Baran, Bundi, Jhalawar, Karauli and Sawai Madhopur