Directorate of Extension Education (DEE) as a constituent unit of Agriculture University , Kota, entrusted with the responsibility of promotion of agricultural development in the state through quick transfer of technology by providing training, farm advisory services and information to extension personnel’s of the line departments and farmers. For enhancing the process of transfer of technology, ICAR has established Krishi Vigyan Kendras (KVK’s) in each district of the state out of which six KVKs are falling in the jurisdiction of AUK under DEE. The six KVK’s located in two agro-climatic zones namely (i) Humid South-Eastern Plain Zone (V) and (ii) Flood Prone Eastern Plain (III B) have been given a mandate to provide training to the farmers, extension functionaries and demonstrate the improved technology both “on” and “off” farm. Directorate provides the backstopping and monitors the activities of KVKs. Three basic functions of the Directorate of Extension Education are training, advisory and communication.


  • Organize long term and short term vocational training courses in agriculture and allied vocations for the farmers, Farmwomen and rural youths with emphasis on learning by doing for generating self-employment through institutional financing.
  • Organize front line demonstrations in various crops to generate production data and feedback information.
  • Organize training to update the extension personnel within the areas of operation with emerging advances in agricultural research on regular basis.
  • Collaborate with the subject matter specialist of the State Agricultural Universities / Scientists of the regional research station and the state extension personnel in “On farm testing” refining and documenting technologies for developing region specific sustainable land use systems.


Zone Agro-climatic zone District Location of KVK Year of establishment Instructional farm area (ha.)
V Humid South Eastern Plains               Kota     Borkhera       1992                  41.00
             Bundi      Gandhigram       1992                  20.00
             Jhalawar      Jhalawar       1992                  17.00
             Baran       Anta       1994                  12.04
IIIb Flood Prone Eastern Plain Zone            Hindaun      Akroshi       2005                  20.25
        Swai Madhopur      Karmoda       1992                  16.40